My First L.A. Gig


I’ve been meaning to update this blog with information after my move to Los Angeles, but there really hasn’t been a ton to write about. Until now, that is. This week I had my first real, legitimate on-set experience. It wasn’t for a TV show or film, but it was exhilarating.

I worked for two days to help produce Magic Meltdown, a new web series sponsored by Nerdist. I essentially just did any small task that needed doing, whether it was lugging around camera cases or getting on-camera volunteers to sign releases.

It wasn’t exactly glamorous, but it was exactly the kind of experience I was looking for. It allowed me to watch the creative process and soak in as much as I could without needing to worry about any personal responsibilities.

Most importantly, I was surrounded by incredibly talented people, both in front of and behind the camera. It was refreshing to be in a creative environment with passionate people around my age, as well as a reminder that I have a long way to go before I’m on their level.

This was the first time I really came to realize how different the people and environment are out here, and it’s exciting and intimidating at the same time. I went from feeling unfulfilled because of a lack of interesting experiences to being bombarded with them all at once.

I remain very impressed by how kind and helpful everyone has been since I moved out here. I worried that I would annoy or frustrate the other people on set with my lack of experience and knowledge, but everyone was patient and more than willing to answer any questions I had.

That continues a trend of helpfulness that I’ve found pleasantly surprising. People I’ve only known for a matter of hours have gone out of their way to give me advice and try to help find somewhere I can work.

I have now been in Los Angeles for a month, and I can’t say enough good things about the city so far. The people are colorful and interesting, the weather is beautiful and there is never a shortage of things to do. Traffic and parking have taken some getting used to, but just about everything else has been fantastic so far.

I feel much more excited than I have in several years, and it seems a change in environment was exactly what I needed. The journey to make a career will be a long and arduous one, but I’m very glad I took the first step by moving.

As for the Magic Meltdown project, it will be posted on YouTube starting in April. It will be available on YouTube on the Nerdist channel and is hosted by Justin Willman, the current host of Cupcake Wars on Food Network. As the name implies, it’s a magic show, and each episode will have a particular theme.

We spent our first day of shooting on the boardwalk of Venice Beach performing magic tricks for random passersby, and the second at Justin’s house recording various sketches and short tags. We spent 13 hours shooting each day, so it was exhausting and left my entire body sore by the end, but it was worth it.

1 Comment

Filed under Random Observations

One response to “My First L.A. Gig

  1. Your story was awesome!I hope you write awesome stories.
    (From Ian Hamilton, age 8, son of Emily Hamilton- friend of your mum)

Leave a Reply

